New Registration

There are multiple reasons you might apply for a new registration in the state of Arizona. Whether you’ve bought a new vehicle or you’re new to the state, you will need to register your vehicle as soon as possible. The Arizona Motor Vehicle Division is responsible for handling the documentation and record keeping of all vehicles across the state. You’ll need to submit your application to your local MVD office.

New Arizona Residents

The state law requires that your vehicle be registered with the MVD immediately after you establish residency in the state. The following circumstances count as AZ residency:

  • You have an AZ driver’s license
  • Your children attend school in AZ, and you do not pay out-of-state tuition
  • You are employed in AZ (with exemptions for seasonal agricultural workers)
  • You reside in the state for seven or more months per calendar year
  • You own a business in the state that operates vehicles there
  • You own a business in the state that transports goods or people in-state
  • You are a registered voter in AZ

To register your vehicle, you’ll need to visit your local MVD office in person. You will not be able to submit your application through the mail or online. You’ll need to provide the following documentation:

  • Proof of insurance meeting AZ’s minimum required coverage amounts
  • A complete emissions compliance form
  • Your complete Title and Registration Application
  • If you are a Tucson or Phoenix resident, proof that you’ve passed an emissions test (these test results will automatically be forwarded to the MVD)
  • If you do not have your title or registration certificate, proof of a Level I inspection
  • The out-of-state title for your vehicle
  • If the title is held by a lienholder, the current registration for your vehicle
  • The vehicle’s out-of-state license plates
  • Personal identification such as military I.D., driver’s license, or passport
  • Payment for associated fees

Your registration will be valid for a duration of either 1 year, 2 years, or 5 years.

Registering Your Vehicle After Purchase

Vehicle registrations must be conducted in person at your local MVD office; they cannot be completed online or through the mail. If you’ve bought the vehicle from a dealership, the dealer will often assume responsibility for submitting the registration paperwork. Make sure you confirm which party will submit the documents with the dealer.

If you’ve purchased your vehicle brand new, you’ll need to register it before it can be legally driven. You can drive it for an inspection, emissions test, or to your local MVD office by applying for a restricted 3-day use permit. A 3-day permit has a fee of $1, and the application can be completed online.

Bring the following documentation to your local MVD office:

  • Proof of car insurance
  • For Phoenix and Tucson residents, a complete emissions compliance form
  • Your complete Title and Registration Application
  • Proof of vehicle ownership such as the notarized car title or the MCO
  • Personal identification such as driver’s license or passport
  • Payment for the associated fees

The registration will be good for either 1 year, 2 years, or 5 years.

State Registration Fees

The Arizona MVD will charge registration and titling fees as well as a vehicle license tax. Your registration fees will be as follows:

  • $8 for the registration
  • $4 for the title
  • $1.50 for Air Quality Research
  • $1 for a 3-day permit