If you live in the state of Arizona and have your license suspended, you will need to satisfy a number of requirements before you can get your license reinstated. Additionally, you could receive many other penalties from state and federal courts. Once all suspension requirements are satisfied, you will receive your license back.
Reasons for license suspensions:
- Driving under the influence
- Reckless or aggressive driving
- Driving points excessive
- Felonies committed while driving
- Failure to appear
- Violating insurance laws
- Medical conditions that prevent driving
What happens if you have a suspended license in Arizona?
Criminal convictions and too many points on your driving record could result in your license being either suspended or revoked.
If you accumulate 8 points or more on your driving record inside of 12 months:
- You will have to attend a mandatory AZ driving school.
- Your license could be suspended for up to 12 months.
You will immediately earn 8 points for the following infractions:
- Reckless driving
- Aggressive driving
What happens if you are driving under the influence?
If you either fail or refuse to take a DUI breath test, the AZ MVD has the right to revoke your driver’s license. For the first charge, it will be revoked for 12 months. If you violate it again within 84 months, your license will be revoked for 2 years.
Additionally, your driver’s license can be revoked for the following reasons:
- A felony conviction involving a vehicle.
- If you are driving under the influence of drugs.
- Supplying false information to the DMV
- Have 2 or more convictions of reckless driving or drag racing violations
Individuals should apprise themselves of the rules and regulations regarding license suspension in AZ. Your car could be impounded for 30 days if you are caught driving without a license.
Suspensions can stay on your record for up to 5 years. Taking defensive driving courses may roll some of the points off your record.
What is the appeals process?
If your license has been suspended, you have a right to appeal. You can request an appeal through the Arizona DMV. If your suspension was deemed mandatory, you will not be able to appeal the decision.
Once you apply for an appeal, it may take up to 60 days. If you are granted an appeal, your suspension will be placed on hold until the results. If the outcome is positive, the DMV will reinstate the suspended license.
To learn more about the suspension reinstatement process, you may either call your local DMV or request more information by mail.