No drivers license lasts forever without being renewed. If you drive around with a license that has passed its date of expiration, you are effectively driving around without a valid license. This can result in penalties and fines that grow in amount for each offense.
While it’s important to renew your license before it expires, it is important to understand that each state has different requirements regarding the renewal of a drivers license. If you are a resident and licensed driver in the state of Arizona, you can follow the guidelines outlined below so that you know exactly what is required of you in terms of renewing your license.
How Often You Must Renew Your License
It’s true that you do not need to renew your drivers license in Arizona until you are 65 years old. But understand that this does not mean that your license never needs to be updated. In fact, the state requires that you update the photo on your license every 12 years. Also, every 12 years you must pass a vision exam.
The only instance that the renewal period changes is when a driver over the age of 60 seeks a renewal. In this instance, the driver’s renewal period only lasts for five years. Each time the license is renewed, the expiration date will be extended another five years by the Arizona Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Division. Also, you can go ahead and renew your license anytime within six months of the date that it is scheduled to expire or anytime that your current license has been lost or stolen.
Where You Can Renew Your License
The only way to renew your drivers license in Arizona is in person at your local MVD office. There is no way at all to renew a license online, by phone, or by mail. If you try to renew your license online, by phone, or by mail, you will be just be wasting your time and effort. Also, you must be present at the office to renew your license. While a friend or family member is allowed to accompany you to the MVD office, they cannot renew your license without you being present.
Documents Needed to Renew Your License
Once you have decided which MVD office you will visit to renew your license, you need to make sure that you have all of the required documentation before you leave your house. An employee at the MVD office will ask for your two documents that prove your identity. This type of identification can include your current license, a United States passport, and your social security card.
Process to Obtain Your Renewed License
As soon as you have made your way to the front of the line at the MVD office, a staff member will give you a vision exam. You will then be asked to pay the fee that applies to your age group. If you are between the ages of 16 to 39, you will be required to pay a fee of $25 for a renewed license. If you are between the ages of 40 to 44, the fee is $20. If you are between the ages of 45 to 49, the fee is $15. If you are 50 years old or older, the fee is $10. You can pay the fee that applies to you with cash, a check, or a money order. You’ll have your new photo taken and a temporary license will be issued to you on the spot. Your permanent license will be mailed to you.